Thread: Borneo Biotope / Tiger Barb species tank

Default Borneo Biotope / Tiger Barb species tank

Hello all! I am kind of new to the whole aquarium thing. I have worked in a pet shop, and one of my duties was to clean and maintain all of the fish tanks. I did quite a bit of research while working there, and now I am looking to start my own aquarium. I think I will be doing a Tiger Barb species tank, but it might become a Borneo Biotope. In any case, I am having some trouble finding the right kind of plant to put into this aquarium. I have thought about Borneo Sword, but I have read a lot of articles stating that it is really more of a semi-aquatic plant and will not do well when totally submerged. I also thought of java fern, but I don't really want to deal with a plant that I will pretty much have to prune every other day. Does anyone have any suggestions on good plants from Borneo that I could use in this aquarium? Thanks for the help. And if anyone has any cheep aquarium equipment for a newbie, let me know

Hi, and welcome to the forum!

Some one will chime in here and let you know what plants to look for, there are a lot of very helpful folks here as you will find out, just starting my first planted tank so I'm really not a lot of help there lol.

As far as equipment, you might want to give a list of things you need, might help out a bit. gl

Administrator Site Admin Dean Hougen's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Welcome! Glad to have you here.

A Borneo biotope is a really cool idea. Regarding plants, in my experience, java fern doesn't grow particularly quickly. It doesn't grow particularly slowly, either, but I've never known anyone who needed to trim it all that often. However, as you get excess java fern plants, you can sell them at our club auctions. They generally go for pretty good money.

Dean

Expert Member ModeratorSite Admin herpchat's Avatar
    Blog Entries